Latest News

Reynoso Honored With Spot On Team Of The Matchday


MLS has officially released its Team of the Matchday lineup and, after another standout performance on Wednesday night against Colorado Rapids, Loons midfielder Emanuel Reynoso has gotten the nod for the starting XI in Week 29 of the regular season. For any fan watching this one, el Rey’s selection to the squad isn’t a surprise, after he was able to notch a brace while keeping the Colorado defense on its heels the entire evening.

Reynoso wasted no time in doing damage to the Rapids’ quest to play spoiler, as theLoons looked poised throughout, overpowering Colorado on both ends of the pitch. He would draw first blood on the opposition in the 17th minute of play, when his quick feet and body positioning was able to draw the foul and easily convert on the penalty kick awarded to him. His next score on the night would come when the Argentine was in the right place at the right time in the 28th minute, capitalizing on the rebound of Ismael Tajouri-Shradi’s shot to put Colorado in a 2-0 hole before the game clock hit 30 minutes.

From a team standpoint, Reynoso’s performance couldn’t have come at a better time following a somewhat disappointing draw with Seattle this past Sunday. In quick bounce-back fashion, the Loons were able to reclaim their winning ways within the friendly confines of Allianz Field and continue pushing for a playoff berth within the gridlock of the Western Conference standings. And, when the stakes are high in the late aughts of the regular season, it’s a beautiful thing to see one of the Loons best players show up in a big way. 

Congratulations, el Rey! A phenomenal showing, and some very well-deserved recognition. 

Here's the lineup for Team of the Matchday Week 29:

F: Deandre Kerr (TOR), Santiago Moreno (POR)

M: Riqui Puig (LA), Luciano Acosta (CIN), Héctor Herrera (HOU), Emanuel Reynoso (MIN)

D: Álvaro Barreal (CIN), Kamal Miller (MIA), Birk Risa (NYC), Matt Polster (NE)

GK: Stefan Frei (SEA)

Coach: Pat Noonan (CIN)

Bench: Elliot Panicco (NSH), Josh Yaro (STL), Juan Mosquera (POR), Alonso Coello (TOR), Brian Anunga (NSH), Eduard Löwen (STL), Nicolás Lodeiro (SEA), Ryan Gauld (VAN), Lorenzo Insigne (TOR)