DSC_2397

Minnesota United recognizes the importance of honoring diversity. Soccer is the world’s game, stretching across many nations, cultures and creeds. The club gets to live and breathe this beautiful sport every day, and it is essential to pause and recognize how great it is to be able to do so. 

In the Loons first-team roster alone, there are seventeen countries represented. That is why, over the international break, MNUFC has elected to celebrate the diversity in both the Twin Cities and on its team. From May 30 to June 18, Allianz Field will be lit up with different colors, each representing the flag of the home country of one of the first-team players. Starting with the USA and ending with Kenya, fans will be able to celebrate alongside Minnesota United by enjoying the flag colors on Allianz Field this month.

Date
Countries
Players
Monday, May 30
USA
Tyler Miller, Jacori Hayes, Brent Kallman, Wil Trapp, Aziel Jackson, DJ Taylor, Hassani Dotson, Nabilai Kibunguchy, Fred Emmings, Eric Dick, Devin Padelford
Tuesday, May 31
Argentina
Franco Fragapane, Emanuel Reynoso
Thursday, June 2
Denmark
Niko Hansen
Saturday, June 4
France
Bakaye Dibassy, Romain Métanire, Adrien Hunou
Sunday, June 5
Ghana
Abu Danladi
Monday, June 6
Honduras
Joseph Rosales, Kervin Arriaga
Tuesday, June 7
Jamaica
Justin McMaster, Oniel Fisher, Kemar Lawrence
Wednesday, June 8
Liberia
Patrick Weah
Thursday, June 9
New Zealand
Michael Boxall
Friday, June 10
Paraguay
Luis Amarilla
Sunday, June 12
South Africa
Bongokuhle Hlongwane
Monday, June 13
Canada
Callum Montgomery, Dayne St. Clair, Tani Oluwaseyi
Tuesday, June 14
Finland
Robin Lod
Wednesday, June 15
Nigeria
Tani Oluwaseyi
Thursday, June 16
Mali
Bakaye Dibassy
Friday, June 17
Madagascar
Romain Métanire
Saturday, June 18
Kenya
Nabilai Kibunguchy

Throughout this time, there will be a few special days highlighted as well. On these days, Allianz Field will be lit up with colors that represent Memorial Day, Pride, National Gun Violence Awareness Day, and the SC Paderborn 07 Match.

  • Monday, May 30: Memorial Day
  • Wednesday, June 1: Pride
  • Friday, June 3: National Gun Violence Awareness Day
  • Saturday, June 11: SC Paderborn 07 Match