US Open Cup

What is the Open Cup?

OC Trophy

This story was originally posted on June 7, 2017 and has been updated for the 2019 tournament.

March Madness. The Stanley Cup. The NFL Playoffs. Sports fans love tournaments. When the stakes are win or go home, the drama and excitement are constant. When the dust settles, the last team standing is victorious.

For soccer, these tournaments – or cups as they are commonly called – run in parallel with the regular season. In between league matches, clubs fight their way through the cup to be crowned champions of their country. The most unique aspect of soccer’s cup tournaments is that every club, from Sunday league amateur sides to the top professional teams, competes in the same tournament. This means David and Goliath matchups, Cinderella story runs and shocking upsets.

In England, it’s the FA Cup. For Germany, DFB-Pokal. Spain has Copa del Rey. And in the United States, we have the U.S. Open Cup.

What is the Open Cup? -

Started in 1914 as the National Challenge Cup, the Open Cup is the longest running national soccer competition in the U.S. and the third-longest-running open competition worldwide. The first final was played by two teams from Brooklyn at a small stadium in Rhode Island. Today, the single-elimination tournament, which runs from May to August, has grown to 84 teams from across the U.S., all competing for the $300,000 top prize and a spot in the Concacaf Champions League.

The tournament helped grow U.S. soccer at a time when geography and funding had limited previous national competitions. The cup brought national recognition to storied clubs such as the Fall River Marksmen, Bethlehem Steel and Maccabi Los Angeles.

What is the Open Cup? -

So how does the tournament work?

The qualifying rounds start in the fall of the preceding year. Various amateur leagues compete in preliminary rounds within their organizations – United States Adult Soccer Association (USASA) or U.S. Club Soccer – for a spot in the actual tournament. The teams who earn those spots are paired off by geographic proximity with teams from USL League 1 (USL1), USL League 2 (USL2) and National Premier Soccer League (NPSL) for the first round of the Open Cup.

The home side is determined by a coin toss from the first through third rounds and a random draw for the fourth round and beyond. If a match is tied at the end of regulation, two 15-minute extra time halves will be played in their entirety regardless of scoring. If the match is still tied at the end of extra time, a penalty shootout will determine the winner.

The winners of the first round move on, where they are joined by clubs from the second division USL Championship (USLC) in the second round of the tournament. Once again, pairings are determined by geographic proximity.

The winners of these matchups move on and are paired up once again by geographic proximity for the third round. No new teams join the competition in this stage.

What is the Open Cup? -

The fourth round heralds the arrival of MLS clubs, and the structure of the matchups changes slightly. Winners from the third round and clubs from the top professional league in the U.S. are grouped into four-team regions and fourth round games are determined via a random draw. Each group contains at least one third round winner, with pairs drawn randomly but done so that each third round winner faces an MLS team. MNUFC was drawn to face Sporting Kansas City in the Northern Plains pool, with Colorado Rapids taking on New Mexico United in the other matchup.

Winners of the fourth round will be redrawn ahead of the Round of 16 into the final tournament bracket that will determine hosting and matchups through the final four rounds of play. The tournament’s champion joins the MLS Cup winner and the regular season conference champions as U.S. representatives in the Concacaf Champions League.

What is the Open Cup? -

So who are the all-time greats of the historic competition? Bethlehem Steel and Maccabi Los Angeles reign supreme with five titles each. Chicago Fire, Sporting Kansas City and Seattle Sounders sit right behind them with four each, tied for the most titles among MLS clubs.

Though no Minnesota club has ever won the competition, the Land of 10,000 Lakes has been well-represented. The Thunder had several deep runs in their time, including a trip to the semifinals in 2005, mowing down several MLS clubs along the way. Former Thunder striker Johnny Menyongar is tied for the second-most career goals in the modern era of the Open Cup with 13. MNUFC – during the Stars era – pulled off a dramatic road win over Real Salt Lake in 2012.

What is the Open Cup? -

For the Loons, the road to the final starts Wednesday, June 12 against SKC, hosting a game in the competition for the first time since 2016. This will be the 10th meeting between the clubs since 2014 and the fourth in the Open Cup.

Five wins separate the Loons from championship glory in the shortest, but arguably toughest, route to a title in U.S. soccer.